top of page


Rejuvelac is a fermented drink made from namely sprouted wheat berries, but can also be made from a wide variety of whole grain cereals and seeds. Yes, be aware fore grains containing gluten include wheat (including wheat varieties like spelt, kamut, farro and durum, bulgur and semolina), barley, rye, triticale and oats. Gluten free grains include corn, millet, rice, sorghum. And finally, gluten free pseudo-cereals include amaranth, buckwheat, quinoa. If you are coeliac, I would definately suggest you try use Quinoa or then seeds such as Chia or Linseed as a base for your Rejuvelac, in my opinion the results of the fermentation of these is better than the glute free grains I listed. The leftover berries may be eating or compost to feed your garden. Fermented rejuvelac benefits are improvement of your body’s ability to absorb, assimilate, and use the food you eat, being rich in digestive enzymes, benefitial bacteria like lactobacillus acidophilus, minerals and vitamins B, C, and E – it is an excellent way for vegans to get B12.

INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup of wheat berries 4 cups filtered water

INSTRUCTABLES: Use a mason jar sprouting container to sprout the wheat berries using this basic metjhod until just the tail appears, approximately 2-3 days. Place the sprouted wheat berries and the filtered water in a jar. Leave in a warm place for 24-48 hours. The liquid should get a little fizzy and turn cloudy. The liquid should taste clean and fresh with a slight tang. Pour off the liquid to save and place in the refrigerator. It will keep up to a week. Reuse the berries for a second batch, if desired, but only for 24 hours. Enjoy Rejuvelac as a refreshing beverage or make Vegan Cheese.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vitamin K: K2 vs K1; Menaquinone 4 and 7

We consume vitamin k1 subtype (phylloquinone) mainly from leafy green vegetables. K2 is then produced through fermention by the gut's symbiotic bateria, therefore responsable for transforming k1 into


bottom of page